Skip to content

Lab Machine Data Persists Between Students #168

Description

@BenMartinAu

This has been encountered a few times this semester. This may not be the appropriate place to record it, but it needs to be addressed.

Scenario
Student A does not install MPT to their H drive, but instead to some location on the C drive (i.e. Desktop or Downloads), which isn't guaranteed to persist after logout, but often does. Days later, Student B logs on to same computer before previous user's data is cleared (i.e. via an imaging of all lab machines) and attempts to find MPT before installing it. Student B finds install of MPT that Student A installed, which also has Student A's submissions. Student B opens MPT and logins in, resulting in all of Student A's work being synced with Student B's account.

Work Around Fix
Add feature to admin tool to clear student's submissions (and archive in case they need to be restored).

Permanent Fix
Unknown as to whether within scope of MPT design.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions